We Are Beams
  • Paddock Wood
  • £11.15 per hour GBP / Year


After 2.5 years my 18 yr old son’s PA is moving on. So I am seeking a new PA (or two for job share)

The official description of the role is to ‘provide support and assistance to my child, to enable him to achieve maximum personal benefit from their everyday life’.

In reality it is hanging out, playing on the Switch, watching movies, managing/supervising showering and bedtime between 7-9pm Monday to Thursday each week.

Longer shifts on a Saturday afternoon/evening could involve going swimming, cycling (can cycle 20+ miles!), climbing, bowling, cinema, skate park, football, meeting friends, eating out etc Term time there are 20 hours per week available, holiday times are 26 hours per week.

The position also includes some personal elements of care – helping get ready for and supervising showering, assisting with teeth brushing, administering medication (tablets and topical) teaching him to shave, verbal prompting to wash and dry himself but may also include putting on of socks and doing up buttons/laces.

Seb can be shy initially, but is a fun and funny young man, he has no major behavioural difficulties apart from the ones teenage boys tend to suffer from – not wanting to turn off the pc/gaming, insufficient enthusiasm for showering and permanently starving! He has mild cerebral palsy and a learning difficulty which can make him vulnerable as he doesn’t understand consequences/danger.


Rate of Pay:

£11.15 per hour paid monthly, holiday, sick pay, a meal allowance when out and about.


Due to the sensitive nature of this role we will be considering male applicants only for this post in accordance with the provision of the Occupational Requirement (Equality Act 2010) pursuant to schedule 9 part 1.

This role will require an advanced DBS check, either a new one or an existing one that will be confirmed.


Contact Details:

Please email alisonklopper@yahoo.co.uk if interested.

To apply for this job email your details to alisonklopper@yahoo.co.uk